Dine with Diana Fridays – Fast and Easy Jelly Donuts for Hanukkah

sufganiyot

I’m trying to figure out a fun way to teach my kids about all kinds of traditions at this time of year and of course, that includes the traditions surrounding Hanukkah. Although our family will be celebrating Christmas as always, I think it’s important that they get to learn about and experience the traditions of their friends as well.

I started researching Hanukkah and fun foods I could make with the kids while explaining to them the tradition of celebrating olive oil for eight nights. After searching many latke recipes, I just didn’t see myself grating that many potatoes. But, I must admit, they do sound delicious!

So, I settled on something I thought would appeal to my kids as much as to me. And that, my friends, is sufganiyot! Or in laymen’s terms, jelly donuts. I’m not sure I knew that these delicious fried jelly donuts were a part of the Hanukkah tradition before this week, but I’m certainly glad I know now.

By now, you all know I’m not one for going to much trouble in the kitchen. In fact, I’m often down right lazy in the kitchen.  So I was over joyed when I remembered how my friend taught me out to make faux beignets when I was growing up. Beignets are those famous fried French donuts we eat down south. I figured sufganiyot couldn’t be far removed from beignets.

Since my friend and I were in junior high at the time, and certainly not allowed to deep fry anything, we used to take canned biscuits, the kind straight from the refrigerator section at the local A&P, cut each biscuit into quarters and then put them in skillet with a small amount of oil and fry them until they puffed up. Since we were making faux beignets, we sprinkled with powdered sugar.

But, the light bulb when off in my head. Why couldn’t I do this same trick with my kids this year, but add some jelly in the middle before frying to turn them into sufganiyot! By George, I think I’m on to something.

If you’re looking for the easiest possible way to celebrate Hanukkah this year, try this recipe for faux jelly donuts and experience the Hanukkah tradition of sufganiyot without ever having to make dough or dig out the deep fryer.

Happy Hanukkah!

Xo,

Diana

134263632612681136_LBuaF8nq_c

Fast and Easy Jelly Donuts for Hanukkah or Faux Sufganiyot

Ingredients:

  • 1 can refrigerate biscuits
  • Your favorite jam or jelly

Directions:

  1. Add about an inch of oil to a skillet and turn to medium high heat.
  2. Take a sharp knife and cut through the dough of each biscuit in half horizontally just to the middle
  3. Place a small spoon full of jam in the middle of the biscuit dough and press it down around the edges so the dough is sealed back where you cut it
  4. Don’t add too much jam as it will just run out and won’t be a good proportion to the dough. Kids love helping add the jam
  5. Fry your mini-jelly doughnuts to golden brown perfection
  6. Drain on paper towels and enjoy
Leave a Reply

