Quick and Easy Meals Kids Will Love!

My kids were so excited about this dinner. I sliced the hot dogs down the middle and added half a slice of cheese to each, then wrapped with Pillsbury Crescent Rolls.  Bake according to the directions on the rolls while you cook your tater tots or fries or both like we did. These are good with bacon wrapped around under the crescents.  We added applesauce and carrots (not shown).

I happened to have some unexpected dinner guests (you know, they come off the school bus with your kid and you have to feed them but they won’t eat what you were planning to cook) so we made French Bread Pizzas.  They were such a hit that I went to Sam’s and bought huge packages of salami and shredded mozzarella.  I packed sandwich bags full and taped them together so pizza night is a cinch. You can buy the enormous drums of pizza sauce at Sam’s for $4, I just haven’t figured out how to store it once it’s opened. We have also tried it with English Muffins (toast them before topping so they don’t get mushy) and with tortillas.  It’s fun for the kids to make their own with their favorite toppings.

I was able to find everything to make a super easy “Egg Wich” at Target.  We use bagels, English Muffins and Croissants.  You could substitute Canadian bacon for the sausage.  This is a nice alternative to cold cereal. The mini meatloaf cups from the last ground beef cooking session were a big hit too.  We sometimes make fruit kabobs with grapes, berries, bananas and whatever needs to be eaten.  Salad nights are a good time to get them to eat some produce and clean out the fridge.  They get to dip all the veggies while the grownups have salads.  Get more kid friendly ideas at Family Fun.

About Me:

I’m Erica, a mom of a ‘tween and a toddler so I think I know some of the issues that our readers struggle with. Using coupons and learning to be smart with my money has been so empowering and has transformed my life.  Hopefully I can be a guide and share my tips to help you do the same on Denver Metro Moms!

 

For up-to-date info on sales and other Totsy fun, follow us on Twitter (@totsyfan, @mytotsy) or Like us on Facebook (facebook.com/totsyfan).

Leave a Reply

