Saving Money on Meat (Vegetarians, There Are Options for You, Too!)

I wish there was a big secret to this but there isn’t. There is no large meat factory that you can purchase half off meat items. There aren’t a zillion coupons out there for $3 off a lb or $1 off 2 lbs, etc.

As you are learning to save money and begin see the impact that your coupons do for your personal hygiene (i.e. 500 tubes of toothpaste, 20 tubes of deodorant…) you will probably begin to want more. I know after about six months into tackling the drugstores I started to find myself hoping that CVS and Rite Aid would start selling produce or meat!

 

Sadly, I doubt this will happen too soon and I will still have leftover ECB’s and UP rewards that I will have to roll into the next hot mascara deal.

All kidding aside–over the years I have discovered great ways to save money on meat. My lovely husband is a food artist by heart (a chef) and actually has taught me several things when it comes to stocking up on proteins:

  1. Check out the clearance meat section! They have a section devoted to clearance meats and some great stuff! If the meat is set to expire the next day, throw it in the freezer. It can last for at least a month!
  2. Buy Bulk. Costco is one of my favorite places to buy meat. I will purchase meat there if i don’t find any good deals for that week. I always separate the meat into groups of 3′s or 2′s and put into freezer bags.
  3. Build a stockpile. Why can’t you stockpile meat? There are price points that I follow on meat. If I can find Boneless Skinless Chicken breasts at a killer price, I buy at least 2 months worth for my family and just calculate this into my weekly budget. I focus on one protein item a week (if there are good deals) instead of trying to find a variety of meat for the week. This way I will have a selection to choose from and then if there aren’t any good meat deals for that week, I don’t need to purchase any at a ridiculous price!

Here are some of the price points that I use when looking to stock up:

  • Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts $1.57-$1.97 lb
  • Boneless Skinless Chicken thighs $.99 lb
  • Top Round London Broil $1.97
  • 80% lean ground beef $1.47
  • Boneless pork loin $1.99 lb
  • Ground Turkey $3.40 lb

For Vegetarians, there are a few options for high in protein items that you can substitute in place of meat:

Tofu is one obvious choice

  • Soy
  • nuts
  • eggs
  • Legumes
  • Whole grain items

I’d love to hear how you save on meat!

About me:

My name is Josie and I live in sunny Southern California and I am a stay at home mom to three beautiful boys. Even though you may make the commitment to be frugal and pinch your pennies doesn’t mean you have to sacrifice! Find me on SouthernCaliSaver.com!

For up-to-date info on sales and other Totsy fun, follow us on Twitter (@totsyfan, @mytotsy) or Like us on Facebook (facebook.com/totsyfan).

 

Leave a Reply

