CelebrityBabyScoop Exclusive: Grey’s Anatomy’s Sarah Drew: “I Want to Have Ambitions & Be a Great Mom”

With her first trimester behind her, actress Sarah Drew is immersed in all things baby these days, shopping for maternity clothes, preparing a birth plan and debating baby names with her husband Peter Lanfer. In an exclusive interview with Celebrity Baby Scoop, the 30-year-old Grey’s Anatomy star talks pregnancy and parenting tips – she’s already gotten a few from her co-star Ellen Pompeo – and reveals why being an expectant mom is “so exciting and super terrifying at the same time.”

Having signed on as a guest blogger here at Celebrity Baby Scoop, Sarah will be sharing the ups and downs of her pregnancy with us as she prepares for the arrival of her baby – we’re thrilled to be a part of her journey!

Congratulations! What makes you the most excited about having your first child?

I’m really excited to jump into this next stage of my life. I’ve always wanted to be a parent, and I’ve waited a long time. I’ve been married for 9 years, and I wanted to wait till I felt ready. I feel like I’m ready now. I’ve come to a great place in my career. I am on a series, able to hide my pregnancy, able to work, and have a job after the baby comes. I’ve always wanted kids, and this feels like the perfect time.

How are you preparing for the delivery?

I have a lot of reading material and so many friends who have done different forms of delivery. Some used a doula, which is a labor coach who is with you throughout the labor. They help you through the pain, they advocate for you and support you while you’re in the process of birth. People hire them for home births, as well as hospital births. Actually my sister in law and a dear friend from college are both doulas, so I’ve learned a lot from them. I also have a wonderful support system here. I have so many friends with children who have all done it (the delivery) differently. With medication, without medication, both in hospitals and at home. They’ve all had very different experiences, which were all beautiful in their own way. So, I’m talking to my friends, and reading as much material as possible in order to choose the birth plan that is right for me. The most important thing for both myself and my husband is to deliver a healthy baby.

Read on about Sarah’s plans regarding taking time off, baby names, and pregnancy advice at CelebrityBabyScoop.com

Celebrity Baby Scoop is one of the most popular blogs on the topic and the foremost provider of everything celebrity-baby, featuring baby fashion, baby names, baby trends and up-to-the-minute celebrity baby gossip and pics. Get all the latest news, updates, and photos about Hollywood’s most beloved celebrity moms, dads and their babies. Who’s the latest Tinseltown baby? Who’s due next and who just announced a pregnancy? It’s all on Celebrity Baby Scoop.

Leave a Reply

