Dine with Diana Fridays – My Everyday Vegan Lunch Salad

As you may or may not know, I’m vegan-ish. As in, I’m mostly vegan.  But, only when I feel like it. For instance, I will never, ever, ever be vegan when there is cake around! But about 95% of the rest of the time, I pretty much, mostly am. At least for this year, anyway.

Because NYC is filled with a deli or bodega on any given block, eating a vegan salad every single day for lunch is not only easy, but its also reasonably priced, if you find the right place. And, just in case you’re not vegan-ish, like me, you can throw some grilled chicken in place of the tofu if you must!

Everyone always asks me, “What is in that salad, it looks so good?” and “Do you literally get the same ingredients every single day?”

The answer is, yes. Yes, I eat the same salad everyday. It’s predictable and delicious and super healthy so that even if the rest of my work day gets loaded down with coffee and vegan cookies, I know, at the very least, that I’ve gotten a ton of good stuff in me for the day!

Why people get steered wrong when it comes to salad bars:

  • Mixing the wrong ingredients and being dissatisfied with the resulting flavors
  • Going totally unhealthy
  • Worse- thinking the salad is healthy when it really isn’t at all

Why my lunch salad recipe never fails:

  • The perfect combo of textures including healthy veggies, sweet cranberries, crunchy nuts and good-for-you fat with a little splurge in the avocado.
  • Simple dressing allows you to enjoy flavor and texture without the overly strong taste of most popular dressing choices.

Vegan-When-I-Feel-Like-It Everyday Lunch Salad

TIP: Make reasonable variations to your taste’s desire. IE: chicken for tofu or mixed greens rather than romaine. I do NOT mean add bleu cheese instead of carrots. You get the picture.

Ingredients

  • Romaine lettuce
  • Firm tofu cut into 1/2” cubes
  • Peas -frozen and defrosted is fine or canned and drained
  • Black beans
  • Chickpeas
  • Corn- frozen and defrosted also fine (assume “off-the-cob” is obvious)
  • Sprouts
  • Carrots grated
  • Broccoli florets
  • ½ avocado
  • Green beans cut into 1/2’” pieces (again frozen or canned works)
  • Dried cranberries
  • Walnuts – or your favorite nut to add crunch, but just a small handful
  • Lemon juice
  • Olive oil

TIP: Buy and wash fresh produce over the weekend. Wash and cut it. Store in the fridge in air tight bags or containers so you can have your own make-you-own-salad bar at your finger tips!

Directions

  1. Toss all veggies and tofu in an over-sized bowl so nothing spills out. Layer on a tad of olive oil (a little goes a long way) and as much lemon juice as you like.
  2. Serve in your favorite bowl to make the presentation feel special- unless you are at the make-your-own salad buffet and headed back to eat at your desk, like I am!

Leave a comment for me- do you eat the same lunch every day? Do you eat it at your desk like me? I want to know, so please, do share!

For up-to-date info on sales and other Totsy fun, follow us on Twitter (@totsyfan, @mytotsy) or Like us on Facebook (facebook.com/totsyfan).

Leave a Reply

