Make Your Own Laundry Soap

With kids who play like that, I use a lot of laundry soap!

My family has skin allergies so we can not use most laundry soaps. When I heard about making my own I was very intrigued. I am all about something that will save you time and money! I made this yesterday and it took a total of 20 minutes prep time. This recipe yields enough to wash 640 loads of laundry in my front loading machine. I found the recipe here. Without further ado, the directions.

What You will Need

  • Borax ($2.99 at Walmart or Target—in the laundry aisle.)
  • Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda (NOT Baking Soda—$2.99 at local grocery store in laundry aisle, or Wal Mart.) 
  • Fels-Naptha Soap Bar (99 cents at Wal Mart in the laundry aisle.)
  • 5-gallon bucket with lid (around $4 at Home Depot)
  • 4 cups water
  • 1/2 bucket water.
  • Containers to Pour Finished Laundry soap in. ( I used empty milk jugs and empty laundry jugs.)
  • OPTIONAL:  Essential Oil Drops for fragrance (I did not add this, so I am not sure how much it costs)

I paid $2.97 because a friend gave me an old paint bucket and I used overage at Wal Mart to buy my ingredients. That makes each load $.005 cents each. That means I am not even spending a penny a load to wash laundry!!! The icing on the cake is that next time I will only need to buy the Fel-Naptha soap. If there is overage I could make 640 loads for free.

How Do I Do It? 

Grate your soap. My aunt loaned me a large cheese grater to do this with. Pour grated soap and 4 cups water into a pot. Cook on medium heat stirring constantly until all pieces are melted.

Fill your bucket half full of water.
Pour soap solution into bucket.

Add 1/2 cup of Borax to bucket.
Add 1 cup washing soda to bucket.

Stir. Make sure whatever you are stirring with reaches the bottom of the bucket.

Mine looked like this. Stir one more time. Put lid on bucket and let sit overnight. In the morning it should look like this. Stir once more.

Pour half of this solution into empty container using a funnel. Fill the other half with water and shake to mix.
To use it on your laundry shake first then add:
-5/8 cups for a regular top-loading machine
-1/4 cup for a front-loading (HE) machine

Does It Clean Well? 
I washed the outfits from the pictures above using this soap. I am very happy with it! They smell great and there is no evidence of 2 very dirty children left on the clothing! I doubt highly that I will ever buy laundry soap again!!!
There is no stain fighter in it so you will have to use Shout or something like it if you are dealing with stained clothing. 


About Me: I’m Meagan Goepferich, a mom to 2 amazing kids. I am married to an amazing man who works full time at a non-profit homeless mission doing outreach! I stay home full time with my children and homeschool my daughter. For me money saving is both a necessity and a joy. I want to see other people save money on the things they need so they can use it on the things they love.

For more money saving tips, visit me at PublixCouponQueen.com!


Leave a Reply

