Totsy Mom Committee: Meet April!

What’s your go-to fashion item?  I’m an accessories girl – from shoes to jewelry. I work from home most of the time, so I pretty much live in yoga pants and tees. I’m a big fan of cute flats and sandals to step up my day-to-day “work at home / mom” look. And on the days I have to be presentable to the world at large, again it’s more about the accessories – great shoes, a fun chunky ring, a smart looking trench.

What’s been your favorite moment as a mom?  That is a tough one because there are so many! So, the first thing that pops into my mind is this past Mother’s Day – I just worship the handmade cards and presents my daughter made me. One of them is a construction-paper flower, with different words that describe me written on the petals … it’s so sweet and funny. It has words like “loveable” and “magical” … and I cracked up when I saw one of the petals says, “tricky”!!  I love that there’s someone in the world who thinks I’m magical.

What has been your strangest pregnancy craving?  I didn’t have any super crazy cravings – other than to stuff my face as much and as often as possible … but right when I was getting over my “morning” sickness (which was really 24/7 sickness!), I did have a hankering for liverwurst sandwiches — NOT something I would ever normally eat. But once that morning sickness passed – oh boy did I make up for it! I used to wake up in the middle of the night to have snacks!

Tell us what the funniest thing your kid has ever said to you. Is there a story behind it?  Gosh it’s so hard to try to translate some of those hilarious moments into words. Like, the other day, I was putting Isabella’s hair up in a ponytail and I said something about how I wished I had her thick, gorgeous hair (she definitely didn’t inherit it from me!). She turned to me and said, so sweetly and reassuringly, “Well, at least you have SOME hair!”

LOL! I will say, being a mother certainly keeps my vanity in check. 🙂

There are so many topics to cover in terms of blogging. How do you determine which ones to focus on and which ones are off-limits?  As an editor, I write about a huge variety of topics. But when it comes to my personal blogging, or to any of the writing I do about my own life, I just try to make sure that I never publish anything I wouldn’t want my daughter to be able to read … one day. I think it’s possible to be honest and open while also having respect for my family.

When did you decide to take blogging seriously and why? What sparked this?  When my daughter was little, the whole mommy blogging thing was really taking off, so it seemed like a fun way to be creative, connect with other mamas … AND turn a love of writing into a viable career. I was able to transition from a marketing career into the editorial world by leveraging my own blog and the beauty and style blogging I was doing for other sites. I’m really grateful to live in a time when it’s possible to carve out a career like this – I don’t think I could have done what I’m doing, from home, even 10 or 15 years ago!

APRIL, Betty Confidential features all kinds of celebs. Who do you think has been the most fascinating celeb this past year? Also in the celeb world, have there been any good learning opportunities for our kids? We mean “good” as in positive :).  Ooh the most fascinating celebs … they are all so oddly fascinating, aren’t they? From Lady Gaga, who seems to live her persona 24/7, to the reality “stars” like Snooki and any of the Housewives, who just amaze me for being so willing to expose themselves. I’m also fascinated by the fascination we all seem to have with Katie Holmes and Suri Cruise … I can’t imagine what it would be like to endure that level of public scrutiny and commentary.

And … haha – there are certainly a lot of lessons to be learned about how NOT to parent in the celebrity / reality world! (Yes, Michael Lohan, I’m talking to you… ). I’m not sure about learning opportunities for kids – I think that’s kind of a tricky thing, because today’s “role model” so often turns into tomorrow’s celebrity DUI mug shot. But to keep things positive – I’m always impressed with the celebrity moms who seem to be such excellent mama bears when it comes to protecting their children from the spotlight. A few that come to mind are Jennifer Garner, Julia Roberts and Gwyneth Paltrow. I really respect the way they keep their kids’ lives private and separate from their own careers.

Of course – to be honest – what I really love to see is … a celeb without makeup! 😉

April is a member of the Totsy Mom Committee.  You can visit her website here: http://bettyconfidential.com. Follow her on Twitter (@aprilhussar) or friend her on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/april.daniels.hussar.

Leave a Reply

